Quick Links

Useful Links

Bridge Academy

General Information

Subject Leader

Yasmeen Raja

Yasmeen.Raja@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Vision

The department strives to foster within students a love of Science.

We aim to:

  • Excite and enthuse children with a sense of awe and wonder at the natural world.
  • Develop an appreciation of how science has contributed to the historical and cultural development of our society.
  • Give practical experience of how scientists make observations of the natural world,
    come up with hypotheses and carry out experiments to obtain evidence to support
    or disprove these hypotheses.
  • Cause children to understand the importance of evidence when making decisions
    and to be able to judge whether the claims of the media, advertisers, politicians,
    journalists, etc. are evidence- based and reliable.
  • Give students enough evidence-based knowledge to be able to make informed
    personal judgements in order to lead healthy, safe, comfortable and environmentally sustainable lives.
  • Develop awareness of the conclusions of important scientific theories in a concrete
    and accessible way.

Staff – Post and Qualifications and contact details

The Science Department is made up of fifteen experienced specialist members of staff, ably supported by three Laboratory Technicians.

There are eight well-equipped Science Laboratories which are shared between all members of the department. We are a supportive, enthusiastic, caring department and we believe strongly in the team ethic.

Head of Biology / Deputy Science Second in Department (Primary Liaison Co-ordinator) (Maternity Leave): Kate Barker
Kate.Barker@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Lead Practitioner / Deputy Science Second in Department (Lead on Teaching & Learning KS4 & Support KS3): Abul Ali
Abul.Ali@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Lead Practitioner / Deputy Science Second in Department (Lead on Teaching & Learning and Support KS4): Mitali Roy
Mitali.Roy@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Deputy Science Second in Department (Assessment and Attainment KS3): April King
April.King@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Head of Chemistry (Resourcing KS3 & 4 and Teaching & Learning KS5): Shamila Sahall
Shamila.Sahall@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Head of Physics (Resourcing KS3 & 4 and Teaching & Learning KS5): Kamlesh Pithia
Kamlesh.Pithia@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Physics Chair (NQT): Hok Man Tang
HokMan.Tang@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science (Physics) Teacher: Tom Bishop
Tom.Bishop@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Teacher (BTEC, Leading KS4 & KS5): Alia Shaikh
Alia.Shaikh@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Teacher (Biology, Resourcing KS3 & KS4 and Teaching & Learning KS5): Sophie Davidson
Sophie.Davidson@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science (Chemistry) Teacher: Shadie Kanj
Shadie.Kanj@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Teacher: Ruth Sandler
Ruth.Sandler@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Teacher (Nurture/SEND) / Director of Learning: Jennifer Copestake
Jennifer.Copestake@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Lead Science Technician: Lisa Man 
Lisa.Man@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Technician: James Caturani 
James.Caturani@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Science Technician: Marlene Attard
Marlene.Attard@bridgeacademy.hackney.sch.uk 

Achievements

100% A*-B in Biology
100% A*-B in Physics
94% A*-C in Chemistry

Important Links:

www.ocr.org.uk 

www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/science/add_ocr_21c

www.s-cool.co.uk

phet.colorado.du/en/simulations/category/new 

www.cgpbooks.co.uk/pages/interactive_gcse_science

Principal:
Mr Chris Brown

Vice Principals:
Kelly Harris (KS3)
Paddy Cassidy (KS4)
Alison Underwood (Sixth Form)
Jennifer Evans

Finance &
Resources Director:

Ken Robb